DMM Functions

Since Presidential Decree 73 of 30 August 2007, municipalities are accountable to the Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG). Until municipal elections can take place, provincial and district mayors are mostly appointed by IDLG and report to the Deputy Ministry of Municipalities (DMM) of IDLG. Kabul Municipality reports directly to the Presidential Office.

The functions of DMM are to:

•      Support municipalities in providing basic social services and infrastructure

•      Formulate and implement municipal policies, rules and regulations

•      Facilitate the drafting and developing of strategic and detailed municipal planning

•      Supervise and control municipal financial affairs

•      Provide coordination for the involvement of the private sector to improve urban socio-economic development

•      Enhance public participation in municipal decision-­‐making

•      Improve management systems in municipalities

•      Build capacity of municipal staff



DMM is managed and run by 32 civil servants and 14 embedded specialists supported by donor programs.

  Male Female Total
Civil Servants 28 4 32
Donor Programs Embed Staffs 10 3 13
Total 38 7 45


Organizational Structure

DMM has 3 Directorates and 7 Sub-directorates as follows:

•              General Directorate of Urban Governance

•              Directorate of Revenue, Account and Administration of Municipalities

•              Directorate of Technical and professional 

•              Sub-directorate of Municipal Administrative Affairs

•              Sub-directorate of Revenue and Account

•              Sub-directorate of Municipal Councils and Programs coordination

•              Sub-directorate of Legal and Legislative

•              Sub-directorate of Economic Development

•              Sub-directorate of Urban Detailed Plans 

•              Sub-directorate of City Services